Description
An event organised as part of the European Heritage Days by the ‘Ville d’art et d’histoire’ department of Fontenay-le-Comte.
An early church already existed in the Middle Ages (1050) in this suburb situated outside the city walls. In the 13th century, it became a parish church. Between 1425 and 1450, major works were undertaken: ‘Saint Jean was completely rebuilt’.
The present church retains the lines and proportions established at that time: the three-nave interior, the south door with its flamboyant pointed arch, and the bell tower modelled on that of Notre-Dame.
The 19th century was a period of embellishment, with meticulous interior decoration: the organ, the high altar designed by Octave de Rochebrune, a Pietà… The Church of Saint John the Baptist was listed as a Historic Monument in 1906.
The parishioners will be on hand to help you discover this magnificent site steeped in history. Make the most of their enthusiasm and knowledge to explore the church and its hidden treasures.
***************************
Meet on Rue Saint-Jean
Saturday, guided tour: 2.00 pm to 5.00 pm
Sunday, guided tour: 2.30 pm to 6.00 pm
Duration: 30 mins
Free




